Front Cover Art
Click to expand Front Artwork
Rear Cover Art (No Image)
Rear Artwork Unavailable
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2    -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • Pink Floyd
  • 1977-05-09
  • Oakland 77 - STCD
  • Oakland Colliseum
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Oakland
  • CA
  • USA
  • SHN
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • Rec 1
  • Very Good
  • MuabDib
  • 6th of October 2008
  • Pink Floyd: Oakland Coliseum 9/5/77 (Click cover for bigger image) Bookmark as: Format: 2CD Catalog: STCD 2016/2017 Stonehenge Misc.: Audience recording, ADD, Stereo, S.I.A.E Produced: Made in Italy, 1990 Date: 770509 Cover: Drawing of the pig, in the sky, above clouds and the Golden Gate Bridge in the background. 8 page booklet in English and Italian, no pictures. Sources: 09 May 1977. Recorded live at Alameda Coliseum, Oakland, California, U.S.A., on May the 9, 1977 Hires-coverscans: <no info> MP3-Soundsample: <no info> Tracks: Disc 1: 1. Sheep 11:11 2. Pigs On The Wing part I 02:14 3. Dogs 18:28 4. Pigs On The Wing part II 02:23 5. Pigs (Three Different Ones) 17:18 6. Shine On You Crazy Diamond part I 14:18 Total: 65:54* Disc 2: 1. Welcome To The Machine 08:01 2. Have A Cigar 06:37 3. Wish You Were Here 06:08 4. Shine On You Crazy Diamond part II 22:00 5. Money 10:22 6. Us And Them 07:38 7. Careful With That Axe, Eugene 09:55 Total: 70:44* Band: Roger Waters (bass, guitar, vocal) David Gilmour (guitar, vocal) Rick Wright (keyboards) Nick Mason (drums) Snowy White (bass, guitar) Dick Perry (sax, synthesizer) Xref: In The Flesh Plays The Animals Quality: Ex -TOR Comments: One of the best audience recordings I have heard. The band is just fantastic... it sounds like they are enjoying themselves this night. It has a very powerful "Have A Cigar", a extra guitar solo on the end of "Pigs On The Wing (part 2) and some jazzy solos on "Shine On... (part 6-9)". It was also the first (and only) time since 1973 that Pink Floyd played "Careful With That Axe, Eugene" live. There are some strange noise on "Wish You Were Here" and 2 fade out/in's on "Shine On... part II". -TOR The only thing bad about this recording (aside from the occasional "hits" it seems in the original source tape -- a good set of headphones will allow you to notice an occasaional momentry "drop" in the stereo -- a hit) is the two things mentioned above. SoYcD parts 6-9 would be perfect if it weren't for the two fade out/ins already mentioned. This version of "Careful With That Axe, Eugene" is definitely cool. -DAMON The recording cuts into Sheep partially into the song. The recording is plagued by crowd noise and mediocre audio, but it is listenable and certainly worth the expense. Also, Careful With That Axe, Eugene has not been played since. -ECM A great recording of a great concert. The band seems to be having a lot of fun (something I assume was rare during the In The Flesh Tour). Roger and Dave laugh hilariously throughout the first verse of "Have a Cigar". The setlist is a winner, too, including "Eugene" as the final encore. Roger does seem to get a bit annoyed at the crowd when before "Us and Them" he tells the crowd, "This one's got a quiet beginning." Definitely pick up one of the RoIO's of this show! - BB I agree with TOR, the band is just fantastic, a flat out 10 on the "inspiration & improvisation" factor. This roio should be in every collection (in addition to Total Eclipse)!!! Pigs TDO and SOYCD 1-5 are just amazing. SOYCD 1-5 has much stronger elements of blues in it, and moves towards blues-rock before the singing starts. Yes, there are some fade outs/ins and there is some crowd noise here and there, but the overall soundquality is still excellent. - GEORG Do not be turned off by the fade-in and fade-outs in the second Shine On suite! No vocals are omitted. Pigs (TDO) seems to cut a couple words at about the 12 or 13-minute mark. I guess this comes with the territory of ROIO's. That having been said, this is a poignant performance with Rick's eerie synths probably the (surprisingly clear, given that this is an audience tape!) sonic and musical highlight on this set. Dave's guitar is very loud on Sheep, so much that you can't hear the first three words of the song! Crowd noise isn't really too noticeable unless you're listening with headphones. The Floyd is very tight, ending each song crisply but with long extended outros at the same time. The WYWH set flows just like it does on the studio album, complete with elevator noises and such. If you can put up with the aforementioned shortcomings - and a booklet that whose poor translation to English is guaranteed to elicit a laugh - I would recommend it, as it is very similar to the other two CD ROIO's of this performance. - MARK As long as the Montreal gig doesn't show up better-sounding than the Azimuth Coordinator version, I find this the stand out recording of the In The Flesh tour. And yes, it's sure a treat reading about "the swollen pig". -ANON In the review it incorectly sates that Waters seems annoyed about this next one is quiet.... It is actually David Gilmour that says that refering to Us and Them. (Last update: 980818)