Front Cover Art (No Image)
Front Artwork Unavailable
Rear Cover Art (No Image)
Rear Artwork Unavailable
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2 -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • Tom Waits
  • 1999-04-01
  • Grand Weepers and Grim Reapers
  • Burbank Airport
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Los Angeles
  • CA
  • USA
  • SHN
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • Soundboard
  • Excellent
  • Cygnals
  • 24th of July 2009
  • Tom Waits - Grand Weepers and Grim Reapers Venue: Burbank Airport City: Los Angeles, CA Recorded: April 1, 1999 Label: none Cat. Number: none Format: SHN Lineage: SBD > Non-Broadcast Tape > ??? CDR > Remaster (Cool Edit Pro 2.1) <Stephen Pickett> > shn (mkw Audio Compression Tool) Audio CDs: 2 SHN/CDs: 1 Artwork: No Performers: Tom Waits - Vocals, Piano Smokey Hormel - Guitar, Banjo, ..... Larry Taylor - Bass Notes: Remaster Notes: After recieve various flawed copies of this set, I decided to do a little research. As it turns out, the copy the generally circulates contains various digital copy errors throughout, though most noticable on the end of disc 1. With the impossibility of obtaining a clear copy of it, I took upon myself the laborious task of remastering these discs. The first step was to listen through with my headphones and remove all of the skips, gaps, and other bizarre problems that had been introduced onto the discs. Tracks 10 and 11 on the first disc were especially difficult, and a close listen will still reveal a few imperfections scattered throughout. I didn't want to alter the original too much, so the really tough ones remain. No noise reduction or EQ of any kind was performed. While these discs are still not perfect, this version is a hell of a lot better than the versions that I was able to find circulating around. Performance Notes: I had a difficult time writing a review of this concert as I was listening to it because I was simply laughing too hard. While many performers have a hard time with the Storytellers format, Tom really flourishes, making the most of each opportunity to tell one of his hilarious stories that sometimes have a little to do with the lyrics and sometimes nothing at all. Mule Variations is one of my favorite Waits albums, and my three favorite songs on it are included here. The version of Tom in his 1999 voice performing Ol' 55 (and the hilarious story that preceeds it) is priceless. The band is excellent, the arrangements are tasteful and interesting, and the vocals are simply perfect. I won't spoil it any more for those who have yet to hear this, but I will say that it should be one of the first Waits bootlegs you should have in your collection. (Remastering and review by Stephen Pickett, enjoy Disc 1 01-Tango 'Till They're Sore 02-Hang Down Your Head 03-Ol' 55 04-Strange Weather 05-Hold On 06-Picture in a Frame 07-Can't Wait to Get Off Work 08-House Where Nobody Lives 09-Get Behind the Mule 10-Chocolate Jesus 11-What's He Building? Disc 2 01-A Little Rain 02-Downtown Train 03-Black Wing 04-Jesus Gonna Be Here 05-Jersey Girl 06-Chocolate Jesus -2nd & 3rd Takes 07-Tango Till They're Sore -2nd Take 08-Hang Down Your Head -2nd Take ********* Share The Music **********