Front Cover Art
Click to expand Front Artwork
Rear Cover Art
Click to expand Rear Artwork
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2 -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • Pink Floyd
  • 1970-12-22
  • Disgusting, Hardly Music - (FOS-CDR-001)
  • City Hall
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Sheffield
  • N/A
  • England
  • FLAC
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • unknown
  • Good
  • davebowman
  • 20th of August 2010
  • Artist: Pink Floyd Date: 22nd Of December, 1970 Venue: City Hall, Shefield, Yorkshire, Uk Bootleg Title: "Disgusting, Hardly Music" Company: Fat Old Sun Records Serial: FOS-CDR-001 Artwork: "Damn!t" from NPF Lineage: 2nd Gen tape > NAD tapedeck > M Audio Soundcard via phono lead > Adobe Audition (dehiss & equalize) > Flac Level 7 Disc 1: 1. Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast [29:21] 2. The Embryo [14:33] 3. Fat Old Sun [15:06] 4. Careful With That Axe, Eugene [15:59] Disc 2: 1. Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun [12:21] 2. A Saucerful Of Secrets [25:21] 3. Atom Heart Mother [32:54] 4. Atom Heart Mother (encore) [2:48] backround info: This was a very special performance by the band. This is the only known live recording of Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast but also hosts an amazing performance by the band which included them making morning tea on stage which is audible. Just like most of their earlier performances, the performance of Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast slightly differs from the album version due to some nice jamming done by the band, especially Gilmour with his delay pedal. The rest of the show is very spacey and relaxed. A Saucerful Of Secrets is a stand out due to being such a strong performance compared to most other live 1970 renditions. In many renditions, the third part "Storm Signals" never really is a strong point of their performances but its given a good ol' heave ho in this performance with the help of Gilmour and Wright but is unexpectedly drawn to a hault by a power failure during the fourth part, "Celestial Voices". It didn't take the road crew long to quickly correct the problem but while the power was out, Wright treated the audience to a nice, accoustic and slightly up-beat version of Celestial Voices on the grand piano. He must've really hit the keys on that piano hard because it is clearly audible on the recording. The performance ends in a massive and powerful version of Atom Heart Mother in which the band was joined on stage by an ensemble of brass and a small choir for one of very few performances they gave of the song with the "full band album version" of the song. Most live versions of the song was done by just the four band members on stage, and from memory, only eight performances of the song were played with the brass ensemble and choir which makes this recording a must for all fans. recording info: Pete Austin was kind enough to contact me through the Neptune Pink Floyd torrent tracker and he let me know he had this and was willing to lend it to me to see what i could do to make it sound pretty and release it back into the trading community. these notes are directly from a private message he sent me... "i have what i believe to be is a 2nd gen copy of Sheffield 22-12-70... which i bought from a post-grad when at University in Sheffield in 1981-4. From my recollection the tapes I got were from his first gen copy of the masters. They are definitely not from vinyl and it predates CD bootleg era." While still in possession of the wav files, Pete dehissed and equalised them in Adobe Audition then made them into Flac files for me. Upon hearing the Flac files that he sent, my eyes lit up, i quickly grabbed my other releases of the show to compare, and this was by far the clearest recording of the lot. I decoded the Flac's back to wav using Flacfrontend and fixed up some levels, made sure nothing was peaking and did the fade in and outs for CD purposes to make it a little cleaner and more presentable. I also re-indexed the tracks so the start of the track was the actuall start of the song. Pete's indexing comprised of anywhere in between the songs so i just quickly fixed that, again for presentation purposes. I believe this completely kicks ass over any release of this show in sound quality. Compared to the versions i have everything seems to be so damn audible, which is where i drew the title for the release from. When the band is making morning tea on stage, either Rick or Nick is easily heard saying "well this is pretty disgusting isn't it, it's hardly music!" which ammused me quite a bit. Due to Nick being quite the comedian i'm leaning towards him for being the one who said it. The recording is still a little hissy but overall much better and clearer than anything i've heard from this show. But, considering its still not the best audience recording i'm going to give this an 8 out of 10 for sound quality, but compare that to "Sheffield (longer version)" and its quite an improvment. Fat Old Sun Records would like to give a big thank you to Pete Austin for offering this great recording, "Damn!t" from Neptune Pink Floyd for doing a bloody awesome job on the artwork, Keith Jordan for helping us share our glorious PF roio's on his torrent tracker, for all the floyd fans, but most of all, Pink Floyd for their awesome Music. Originally seeded on the Neptune Pink Floyd Torrent Tracker, 2007. FAT OLD SUN RECORDS... 2007. ******************************************** ******************************************** **----Sell on ebay and die----------------** **----convert to any lossy format and die-** **----re-flac and die---------------------** **----take credit for this work and die---** **----remaster and die--------------------** ******************************************** ******************************************** cut... end of FOS, Careful starts with no tune up. cut... end of Careful, STC starts with only a small tune up Careful, 9:26 cut that lasts for 1.06 seconds. i noticed other releases had the exact same cut in which a small portion of music is lost (maybe the pause button on the recorder was tapped or it was accidently taped over at a later stage) but due to it being in other releases i have decided to leave it there. STC, 12:17 cut that completely finishes set the controls. ASOS starts with no tune up ASOS, 18:12 small cut just after the PA loses power, starts again before the power is regained and rick has a little jam on the piano with the chords of celestial voices. 19:50 another cut and starts again after they've just regained power and celestial voices starts again with richard on the keyboards. cut... end of ASOS, AHM starts with rogers announcment, i've heard versions that dont include this announcment so maybe its a first. AHM, 32:10, very small cut during the applause at the very end of the song. AHM, 32:38, very small cut after the appluase at the end, but it comes back in when roger announces what the encore will be.