Front Cover Art
Click to expand Front Artwork
Rear Cover Art
Click to expand Rear Artwork
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2 -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • Be Bop Deluxe
  • 1976-04-27
  • The Lostbrook Tape Series Volume 117
  • Calderone Concert Hall
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Hempstead
  • NY
  • USA
  • FLAC
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • Rec 1
  • Good
  • davebowman
  • 2019-10-29 03:34:17
  • Be Bop Deluxe/The Tubes: The Lostbrook Tape Series Volume 117 This tape is the only volume in the series that I did not record. My brother Gary861 has the story: "I had heard the very fine results of various concert recordings my brother had made in late 1975/early 1976 and got the itch to try it myself. I had ordered tickets for the upcoming Be Bop Deluxe/Tubes concert at the Calderone Concert Hall either over the phone or through the mail well in advance but as the concert closely approached tickets still had not arrived. After a couple of calls to the Calderone box office, I was promised that two tickets for very good seats would be waiting at the will-call window for me in order make good for this mix-up. This would be the perfect occasion to attempt a concert recording. I borrowed my brother's trusty Sanyo and also brought a camera, both of which were easily concealed in the large handbag of my girlfriend - now wife. Upon arrival, as promised, we found two tickets for second row center awaiting for us! Although they were the opening act, Be Bop Deluxe was the main reason for my attending this show. I had greatly enjoyed the sometimes sci-fi leaning prog/hard rock of "Futurama" and "Sunburst Finish" and was excited about the opportunity to see them live. Even though their set was fairly short and they experienced an on-stage power failure about a minute into the opening song, Bill Nelson and Be Bop Deluxe delivered an excellent show and left me hungry for more. I would see them a couple more times before the 70's closed out. I was less familiar with The Tubes, only having heard a number of their songs on the radio, so didn't know what to expect from their stage show. It turned out to be a visual feast filled with satire, costumes, props, dancing girls, additional singers, and oh - some great music too! A most enjoyable performance! Unfortunately, sometime during the intervening 35 years, the tape containing the second half of the Tubes performance has gone missing. A new search still failed to uncover anything; therefore, only the first 46 minutes of the Tubes show remains. I apologize for the missing second half. If it ever turns up, I will be sure to pass it on. Although the results of these recordings turned out fairly well, this would remain my one and only foray into the world of concert recording. I was used to attending concerts sitting back, opening the mind and taking in the music with no distractions. Attempting to keep the recorder hidden, worrying about tape flips, and snapping pictures without security hassling us proved too much of a disruption so I made the decision to leave future concert recordings to my brother - probably a very wise decision. :) Wish I had more to offer, but this is all there is. So while not part of the official Lostbrook canon, it's an important adjunct to it having been recorded on the same Sanyo by a sibling. These recordings have never been copied or distributed, so they are truly uncirculated. Hope you find something to enjoy!" April 24, 1976 Calderone Concert Hall Hempstead, NY USA Recording Equipment: Internal Mic>Sanyo M2533 Tape Deck>TDK SD C90> Alesis TapeLinkUSB>Audacity>WAV Taper: Gary861 Transfer: Lostbrook Mastering: CQ Artwork: ethiessen1 Photos: Gary861 Be Bop Deluxe (opening act) 01 Fair Exchange (7:34) 02 Stage Whispers (3:11) 03 Life In The Air Age (4:53) 04 Sister Seagull (3:59) 05 Maid In Heaven (2:15) 06 Ships In The Night (4:12) 07 Blazing Apostles (15:05) The Tubes (incomplete) 08 Young And Rich Grandiose Instrumental Overture>What Do You Want From Life? (11:00) 09 Tubes World Tour (6:17) 10 Pimp>Mondo Bondage>Don't Touch Me There>Mondo Bondage Reprise (12:43) 11 Brighter Day>Poland Whole/Madam I'm Adam>Slipped My Disco>Gimme Dat Harp(cut) (16:31)