Front Cover Art
Click to expand Front Artwork
Rear Cover Art
Click to expand Rear Artwork
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2 -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • Dire Straits
  • 1979-03-23
  • Dallas 79
  • Palladium
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Dallas
  • TX
  • USA
  • FLAC
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • Rec 1
  • Very Good
  • davebowman
  • 2019-11-01 12:56:22
  • Dire Straits - 1979-03-23 Dallas,USA. -" DALLAS '79"- Great setlist and excellent! sound-quality (5 samples included) Dire Straits Palladium Dallas, USA. 23rd March 1979 Source: audience (soundquality 9+) Format 2CDRs Dire Straits recorded their second album Communique and set promotion tour in Europe, U.S and U.K. during 1979 The U.S. leg included 51 sold out shows during 38 days. All concerts in U.K. and Europe were sold out too. Here is an excellent sounding, stunning and energetic show Dire Straits did in Dallas,U.S. during their early 1979 U.S. leg of the "Communique tour" setlist: CD1 1. Down to the waterline (5:17) 2. Six blade knife (4:50) 3. Once upon a time in the west (6:33) 4. Lady writer (4:00) 5. Single handed sailor (5:42) 6. Water of love (5:54) 7. In the gallery (5:49) 8. Follow me home (5:18) CD2 1. News (3:56) 2. What's the matter baby (3:03) 3. Lions (6:39) 4. Sultans of Swing (7:35) 5. Wild west end (5:45) 6. Where do you thing you're going? (5:07) 7. Eastbound train (4:45) 8. Southbound again (4:55) In 1979 The Dire Straits were: Mark Knopfler : guitars and vocals David Knopfler : guitars and backing vocals John Illsley : bass and backing vocals Pick Withers : drums ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment J.V TOl (OEB): Very good audience recording. Interesting and complete setlist. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Comment pyroman: Excellent audience recording. Great songs and very good sound quality. Complete concert -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Enlight note: There is one mystery with this recording, how was is possible, back in 1979, to record a show so close to soundboard? I know that tricky to say, and as many of you know i always provide samples, so i am not trying to convince you to download. But in this case i am lucky because the great soundquality should not be the only reason to grab this show, its just one of the best 1979 gig recorded and one of my favourites. All songs are stunning,(simple as that) Mark talks and "mumbles" a lot , as we can remember from those early days, tunning and strumming his guitar a bit between songs.. ..when Mark makes his guitar feel comfortable before "where do you think you're going" the audience screaming things like "anytime" ,"get it out boys"..Mark simply response with " yeah we do it men". During the show Mark gets some little electric shocks from his mic or other sound-equipment, he tells the audience about that problem with the note that "It doesn't mind we're are all charged up.." If you are looking for one of the best 1979 Straits gig this is definitaly the one to have....go to the samples and see/hear for yourself two cover-art versions(I-II) (thx Nico) are included in the torrent file. Take Care and Enjoy these amount of clean "red and white strat" licks and solo's Enlight (2011-aug)