Front Cover Art (No Image)
Front Artwork Unavailable
Rear Cover Art (No Image)
Rear Artwork Unavailable
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2 -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • David Bowie
  • 1997-07-05
  • The Thin White Duke's Battle for Britain - remastered
  • Werchter Festival
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Werchter
  • N/A
  • Belgium
  • FLAC
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • Soundboard
  • Good
  • davebowman
  • 2019-11-20 12:01:30
  • David Bowie Werchter Festival 5th July 1997 The Thin White Duke's Battle for Britain CD > EAC > Audacity > mda image > CD Wave (track splitting) > TLH > FLAC 01 The Jean Genie 02 Dead Man Walking 03 I'm Afraid Of Americans 04 Battle For Britain (The Letter) 05 White Light, White Heat 06 Fashion 07 Seven Years In Tibet 08 Fame 09 Looking For Satellites 10 Under Pressure This is a mixing desk recording of David Bowie and his band playing the Werchter Festival on 5th July 1997. These are details of the CD I borrowed for this torrent can be found on this site (once more I cannot get direct links to work there, but it's a very good reference site, highly recommended) - On certain Bowie recordings I will be presenting 'raw' and 'processed' versions, for example if it's something that is rarely torrented or available online. This is the 'processed' version. I should point out the recording has the same content as the 'raw' version, but as I do a composite file to do the processing, I have to re-cut track alignments, and saw no need to have the 'intro' to Battle for Britain and Seven Year in Tibet as seperate tracks (i.e. they are seperate tracks on the straight CD transfer 'raw' version). Fame is a bit of a highlight here...while I love true stereo TV and FM broadcasts, the other versions I'd heard of Fame around this time (from such sources) were godawful, pretty unpleasant affairs - the version here isn't bad at all, and a keeper for me. As always, Satellite of Love is an audacious thing of beauty and wonder, as is Under Pressure - great piano on this version! The process I use in Audacity to widen the sound, usually consists of the following - -9db decrease (as the mixing and combining needs space) double up the tracks, add .01 sec delay to one of the channels, split channels and mix either side (balance achieved through trial and error) Combine above doubled up track with untouched track with the latter at a higher level. The above mixing while giving a nice widening effect I am more than aware can sometimes sound artificial to some, and I have found combining it with the untouched file means a balance is achieved between the raw sound of the original and the mixed version. In this case I then put the resulting files through mda_image at 90% width. I did do a couple of different versions before track splitting as this was the best of the three I reviewed. Studios used - and I'm sure still do - used to resort to all sorts of double tracking and compression effects and the bottom line is this method I found by trial and error sounds good to me and others. Those who do not approve or find it does not sound good to them - no-one is forcing you to download this. Voila...I listen to live recordings in headphones for the most part, and many people listen in headphones / earphones these days. This may sound better to many like that, and I am aware that through conventional speakers this sort of mix / re-work may or may not sound as good as an untouched version. It's very subjective, and very much down to individual preference. Where I don't provide samples the downloader who is unsure about this can simply pick one or two tracks to ascertain how good this is, just as I do. If this is for you, enjoy.