Front Cover Art (No Image)
Front Artwork Unavailable
Rear Cover Art (No Image)
Rear Artwork Unavailable
Insert Cover Art (No Image)
Insert Artwork Unavailable

MD5 Record Set:    Disc 1    -    Disc 2 -    Disc 3 -    Disc 4 -    Disc 5 -    Disc 6
  • Band / Artist
  • Concert Date
  • RoIO Title
  • Venue
  • REM
  • 1999-07-06
  • 33rd Montreux Jazz Festival
  • Stravinski Auditorium
  • Town / City
  • State / Prov.
  • Country
  • File Format
  • Montreux
  • N/A
  • Switzerland
  • FLAC
  • Recorder Number
  • Sound Quality
  • Entered By
  • Date Entered
  • Rec 1
  • Poor
  • davebowman
  • 2020-07-02 11:23:41
  • R.E.M. 33rd Montreux Jazz Festival Stravinski Auditorium Montreux, Switzerland Tuesday 6 July 1999 Lineage: MD(?)->CDR->EAC->Foobar 2000 V1.5.2 (used to merge tracks back into 1 file)-> Audacity V2.3.3 (fixed small dropouts between tracks, normalised, created new track start and end times, split tracks back out again). All tracks tagged using Foobar 2000. I received this on CDR back in 1999 so I don't have any further information. It's highly possible this was the same taper as the 8 July 1999 Vienna show. Seeded to Dime by eckythump 18 April 2020. 01 - Lotus (cuts in) 02 - What's The Frequency, Kenneth? 03 - Suspicion 04 - Pilgrimage 05 - So Fast, So Numb 06 - Perfect Circle 07 - Daysleeper 08 - Fall On Me 09 - Electrolite 10 - The Apologist 11 - The One I Love 12 - Sweetness Follows 13 - At My Most Beautiful (cut - end of disc 1) 14 - Michael talks 15 - The Great Beyond 16 - Losing My Religion 17 - Find The River 18 - Everybody Hurts 19 - Walk Unafraid 20 - Man On The Moon Encore 21 - Encore break 22 - Black Boys On Mopeds - I'm Not Over You (Michael solo) 23 - Why Not Smile 24 - Band intros 25 - Crush With Eyeliner 26 - Michael talks 27 - Tongue 28 - Cuyahoga 29 - It s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine) Michael Stipe- Vocals, guitar on Black Boys On Mopeds and I'm Not Over You Peter Buck - Guitar, mandolin Mike Mills - Bass, vocals Scott McCaughey - Guitar, keyboards, vocals Ken Stringfellow - Guitar, keyboards, vocals Joey Waronker - Drums, percussion Show notes: Another great show from 1999 with a very enthusiastic crowd, this time as part of the Montreux Jazz Festival in a relatively small for R.E.M. venue of 3,500 people. Highlights include a very rare performance of Perfect Circle (its only performance outside of soundchecks for that year), as well as the classics Pilgrimage and Fall On Me. Prior to Tongue, Michael references the last time they played in Switzerland in 1995 when Bill collapsed on stage, but reassured everyone he is doing very well back home. Another terrific show by a band firing on all cylinders. Recording notes: On a scale of poor to brilliant, I'd rate this one a 'not bad/pretty good'. It's a decent audience recording, with minimal talking around the taper, but the louder songs overwhelm the recording device at times (presumably a minidisc). I received this on 2 CDR's way back in 1999 from someone who I can't remember, and there were some issues with the way it was burned to disc - there were small gaps between each track which I have removed using Audacity. I also recut the start and end time of the tracks, which I thought had been poorly done, eg. songs starting 1-2 minutes into the track. There are a few flaws - the first minute or so of Lotus is missing, the end of At My Most Beautiful is cut off as that was the end of disc 1 (that's the way it came), but the majority of the song is there. The recording also ended before the last bit of feedback on It's The End Of The World finished, but at 7 minutes it's mostly all there. There's also a few minor cuts between songs, but no other music is lost. I'd consider this a worthy addition to your collection if you're a fan. Torrent notes: I searched the archives for a torrent of this but came up empty. All I could find was an heavily edited DVD that was seeded on Dime a few times many years ago, but that was only a small portion of the show, this is almost (99%) the full thing. To my knowledge this is the first time this show has been torrented ever. If anyone out there has access to the master recording or a better version than what I have and would like to remaster and share it please do! for all your R.E.M. setlist needs!